Founded In
Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil

About Náutico

Clube Náutico Capibaribe, usually referred to in simplified form as Náutico, was established in 1901.

The club maintains an intense rivalry with Sport Recife, which is one of the oldest derby matches in the country. Since a newspaper report in the 1940s, the derby has become known as the Clássico dos Clássicos, which translated to the Derby of Derbies, highlighting its importance. Santa Cruz are the club's other rival from the area and this rivalry has been described as the The Derby of the Emotions.

Náutico have achieved significant success in their state championship, the Campeonato Pernambucano. In total, the club has won the championship 21 times and this includes a run of six consecutive triumphs in 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1967 and 1968. In 2011, the club also won its state cup, the Copa Pernambuco, for the first time. On a national level, Náutico's best performance in the Campeonato Brasileiro Série A came in 1967, where they finished in 2nd place.

The club's top goal scorers are Bita, with 223 goals and Fernando Carvalheira, who scored 185 goals. Other notable players to represent the club include the goalkeeper Neneca, who holds the world record for the most concecutive minutes without conceding a goal and former Brazilian international striker Jorge Mendonça.

Currently, Náutico's home ground is the Estádio dos Aflitos, officially called the Estádio Eládio de Barros Carvalho. The stadium, which has served the club since 1939, can hold a total of 19,800 spectators. However, the club has gradually outgrown the stadium. As of July 2013, Náutico will play their home matches at the Arena Pernambuco, having signed a deal to become part owners of the new ground. Upon completion, the Arena Pernambuco will be able to hold up to 46,154 spectators and the stadium will serve as one of the venues for the 2014 FIFA World Cup.    

Loading ...