Nea Salamis

Founded In
Lárnaka (Larnaca), Cyprus

About Nea Salamis

Nea Salamis Famagusta Football Club, sometimes also known as Nea Salamina Famagusta, was first established in March 1948, during a period of civil war. The club is regarded as the first 'leftist' club in Cyprus. Throughout history, they have achieved some significant success, but have also been relegated from the top flight on multiple occasions. 

Originally located in Famagusta, since the Turkish invasion of 1974, Nea Salamis have been unable to use their old home stadium in the city and have instead become a refugee club, based in Larnaca. Traditionally, however, the team have had a strong association with Turkish Cypriots, housing a number of Turkish Cypriot players over the years. In 2005, they played a friendly match against Yeni Mosque, which was the first match to be played between Greek and Turkish Cypriot clubs for half a century. Nea Salamis went on to win the match 6-0.

The 1989-90 campaign was the most successful in Nea Salamis' history, as they lifted the Cypriot Cup, after beating Omonia 3-2 in the final. This marked their first ever major honour. A few months later, the team defeated APOEL in order to win their second major trophy, the Super Cup. As a result of their Cypriot Cup win, the team gained entry to the 1990–91 European Cup Winners' Cup, marking their debut in a major UEFA tournament. Their highest ever finish in the top flight is third place, which they have achieved on several occasions, including during their first ever top flight season in 1955-56.

Former Cyprus international, Charalambos Andreou, is perhaps the club's most highly-regarded former player. Andreou scored over 200 goals for the side and is their record goalscorer. Other notable former players include Louka Liasos, Ioannis Okkas and Nikos Nicolaou.

Nea Salamis' home matches are now played at Ammochostos Stadium, which opened in 1992. The venue was renovated in 1998 and is currently able to hold up to 5,500 supporters.

Loading ...