New England Revolution

Founded In
Foxborough, Massachusetts, USA

About New England Revolution

The New England Revolution were formed in 1995 and served as one of the original ten Major League Soccer clubs when the league started in 1996. The team's name, 'Revolution', makes reference to the American Revolution and New England's important role in it.

Although the Revolution have rivalries with The New York Red Bulls, Houston Dynamo and D.C. United, the majority of Revs fans now consider Chicago Fire to be their biggest rivals and this was reflected in an online poll on the club's official website.

In 2002, New England Revolution reached the final of the MLS Cup for the first time, although they were ultimately unsuccessful. In 2005, the Revolution had the second best record of any team in the regular MLS season and New England reached the final of the MLS Cup in three successive seasons from 2005-2007. Despite this consistency, New England have never won the MLS Cup or the MLS Supporters' Shield. In 2007, the club won the U.S. Open Cup, defeating FC Dallas in the final. Despite it taking over a decade for the Revolution to finally win their first major trophy, they added to this success just one year later, winning the North American SuperLiga, this time overcoming Houston Dynamo in the final. In 2003, 2008 and 2012, the team was awarded the MLS Fair Play Award.

The club's record goal scorer is former USA international Taylor Twellman. Other significant players to represent the New England Revolution throughout its history include Clint Dempsey, Alexi Lalas, Shalrie Joseph and current captain Matt Reis.

Since 2002, the Revs have played home games at the Gillette Stadium, formerly known as CMGI Field. The stadium, which is shared with the New England Patriots NFL team, has a total capacity of 68,756, but this is reduced to 22,385 for New England Revolution games. 

Loading ...