Nottingham Forest

Founded In
Nottingham, England

About Nottingham Forest

Nottingham Forest Football Club was founded in 1865, making them one of the world's oldest surviving football teams. In 1892, Forest were invited to join the Football League for the first time, having previously been a part of the Football Alliance.

Nottingham Forest were a moderately successful club, winning the FA Cup in 1898 and 1959, but spent many years bouncing between the first and second tiers of the English league system. However, this changed when Brian Clough was appointed as manager in 1975. Along with his assistant, Peter Taylor, Clough revamped the team and guided the club towards its most successful ever period, starting with promotion to the top division at the end of the 1976–77 season.

Forest took the top division by storm, first winning the League Cup in March 1978 and then adding the league title a month later. They finished the season seven points ahead of 2nd placed Liverpool and joined Ipswich Town Football Club as one of the few clubs to win the league title in the very first season after gaining promotion to the top flight. More success followed, as Clough won the League Cup and European Cup in the following season, beating Malmo in the final of the latter. Forest won the UEFA Super Cup and retained the European Cup in 1979–80, this time beating Hamburg in the final. Further League Cups were added in 1989 and 1990, and in total, Clough amassed 8 major trophies in his 18 year spell at the club.

Throughout its history, the club has been home to many footballing legends, including Peter Shilton, Viv Anderson, John McGovern, Trevor Francis, Des Walker, Nigel Clough and Stuart Pearce.

Since 1898, Nottingham Forest have played at the City Ground, in West Bridgford, Nottingham. Located just 300 yards away from Notts County's stadium, Meadow Lane, the City Ground has a capacity of 30,603. The club recently discussed leaving the City Ground for a new stadium in time for the 2018 World Cup. However, these plans were halted, at least temporarily, when England failed to win their bid to host the tournament. 

Loading ...