Founded In
Pachuca de Soto, Mexico

About Pachuca

Pachuca Club de Fútbol was established in November 1901 under the name Pachuca Athletic Club. They were founding members of the Mexican Primera División in 1907. Over the course of the last few decades, the club has emerged as one of the dominant sides in Mexican football, achieving success at both domestic and international level. In 2001, they became the first team from the country to successfully survive for 100 years.

The team has, historically, had a reputation for bouncing between the divisions, failing to achieve notable success up until their promotion to the top flight in 1998. They have remained in the division ever since. In 1999, under the management of Javier Aguirre, Pachuca were crowned Mexican champions for the first time, beating Cruz Azul in the final of the playoffs in what was considered an upset.

Since 1999, the club has built upon its first title win in order to achieve phenomenal levels of success in the years that followed. In total, the team have now achieved five Primera División wins, with the other victories coming in 2001, 2003, 2006 and 2007. In addition, 2002 saw Pachuca achieve their first major international honour, as they won the CONCACAF Champions' Cup. In 2006, the club won the Copa Sudamericana before adding subsequent Champions' Cup wins in 2007, 2008 and 2010, taking their total up to four. Pachuca also won the inaugural North American SuperLiga in 2007.

Some of the club's most notable players over the years have included names like Christian Giménez, Miguel Calero, Hernán Medford and Pablo Hernán Gómez. Gabriel Caballero and Juan Carlos Cacho are the club's joint record goalscorers, with 54 goals each.

The Estadio Hidalgo has been Pachuca's home since the stadium's opening back in 1993. The ground has undergone significant renovations in recent years and is currently able to hold up to 30,000 spectators.   

Loading ...