Founded In
Athína (Athens), Greece

About Panathinaikos

Panathinaikos Football Club was established in Athens in 1908, making them one of the country's oldest teams. Historically, they are also amongst Greece's most successful teams and are one of only two supporter-owned clubs in the country. Their main rivals are Olympiakos, with whom they contest what is known as 'Derby of the Enternal Enemies'. It is generally considered to be the most important match in the Greek footballing calendar.

The 1960s and early 1970s represent the team's golden era. This period featured league title wins in 1959-60, 1960-61, 1961-62, 1963-64, 1964-65, 1968-69, 1969-70 and 1971-72. Their 1963-64 win was especially notable, as they became the first, and to date, only, Greek team to go the entire length of a league season without losing a match. In 1971, under the management of Ferenc Puskás, Panathinaikos reached the final of the European Cup, but lost to Ajax. Nonetheless, it remains the furthest a Greek side has gone in the competition.

Panathinaikos have been crowned Greek champions on 20 occasions, making them one of the league's most dominant sides. In addition, they have lifted the Greek Cup 17 times, a total which is second only to Olympiakos' haul. Their European Cup final appearance, coupled with two further appearances in the semi-finals make them Greece's most successful side in continental tournaments. Other honours include four Greek Super Cups and 17 Athens Championships.

Krzysztof Warzycha holds the record for most goals scored for Panathinaikos, having amassed 288 goals in all competitions, while Mimis Domazos has made more appearances for the side than anyone else. Other notable former players include Antonis Antoniadis, Takis Loukanidis, Dimitris Saravakos, Angelos Basinas and Djibril Cissé.

The club currently play their home matches at Athens' Olympic Stadium. The ground first opened in 1982 and later hosted the 2004 Olympics. It is rated as a 4-star stadium by UEFA and has a maximum capacity of 69,618. The ground is shared with AEK Athens.   

Loading ...