Partizani Tirana

Founded In
Tiranë (Tirana), Albania

About Partizani Tirana

Futboll Klub Partizani, better known as Partizani Tirana, was founded in February 1946. Based in the capital city of Tirana, the club are one of the most popular in Albania and have a fanbase which stretches across the entire country. Their main rivals are KF Tirana and the matches between the two are often dubbed the Big Derby, due to the historic importance attached.

Having played in the top division for most of their history, Partizani Tirana suffered multiple relegations in recent years, which saw them fall as far as the country's third tier in 2011. Fortunately, their stay at that level was short-lived and they eventually gained promotion back to the Superliga at the conclusion of the 2012-13 season.

Altogether, Partizani Tirana have won the Albanian Superliga 15 times, with their most recent title coming at the end of the 1992–93 season. In addition, they have lifted the Albanian Cup 15 times, most recently in 2004; a year in which they also won the Albanian Super Cup. Over the decades, the team have competed in several European competitions, including the UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Cup. In 1970, they won the now-defunct Balkans Cup, beating Bulgarian side, Beroe Stara Zagora, in the tournament's final.

The two best-known and most highly regarded players to have represented the club are Refik Resmja, who played during the 1950s, and Panajot Pano, whose stint with the side lasted from 1960 to 1975. Resmja is the club's all-time leading goalscorer, having scored 180 goals for the club. Pano, meanwhile, was given the Albanian UEFA Jubilee Award in 2003, recognising him as the country's best footballer of the previous 50 years.

Partizani Tirana's home matches are held at the Qemal Stafa Stadium, which opened in 1946. Formerly able to hold up to 35,000 spectators, the venue became an all-seater stadium in the 1990s, taking the capacity down to its current total of 19,700.

Loading ...