Perth Glory

Founded In
Perth, Australia

About Perth Glory

Perth Glory Football Club was founded in 1996 and began play during the National Soccer League era in Australia, where they enjoyed significant success. In 2005-06, they became a founding member of the A-League, making them one of only three teams to have survived the NSL's closure. Their biggest rivals are Wellington Phoenix and the Brisbane Roar. Matches against Wellington are known as the Distance Derby, due to the 3,270 mile distance between the two clubs.

During the team's NSL days, Perth Glory were regular title contenders, finishing as runners up in the Championship in 1999-00 and 2001–02. Both of those seasons saw the team end the regular season in 1st place, gaining them the secondary 'Premiership' title. Then, in back-to-back seasons in 2002–03 and 2003–04, the club was crowned NSL Champions, beating Olympic Sharks and Parramatta Power in the two Grand Finals. Their 2003–04 campaign also saw the team finish 1st in the regular season, meaning Perth Glory won a domestic double.

Since the formation of the A-League, major success has been beyond the team's reach, although they have come close on several occasions. In both 2005 and 2007 they were runners up in the Pre-Season Challenge Cup, while in 2011–12 they reached the Grand Final of the A-League before losing to the Brisbane Roar. 

Some of the most notable players to represent the club include Jamie Harnwell, Damian Mori, Stan Lazaridis and Robbie Fowler. Bobby Despotovski holds the scoring record for the team, with 113 goals in 241 appearances.

Perth Glory play their home games at Perth Oval, which is known as nib Stadium for sponsorship reasons. The ground originally opened in 1904 and underwent major renovations in 2004 and 2012. It is able to hold up to 20,441 supporters and is shared with the Western Force rugby union team.

Loading ...