Founded In
Paris, France

About PSG

Paris Saint-Germain, also commonly referred to as PSG, were founded in August 1970, after a merger between Paris FC and Stade Saint-Germain. The club played its first match in Ligue 1 in 1974 and has remained in the top division ever since. The team's fierce rivalry with Marseille is known as the Derby de France and due to the status of the two sides, it has become one of Europe's biggest rivalries.

During the second half of the 20th century, PSG quickly established themselves as one of the most prestigious and fashionable teams in French football. By 1998, the club's reputation had developed to such an extent that it was ranked as the #1 club in Europe by UEFA. In 2012, the club was taken over by the Qatar Investment Authority and as a result, they became France's richest team and one of the richest teams in world football.

PSG have won two Ligue 1 titles, in 1985–86 and 1993–94. In 1996 they won the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup, defeating Rapid Vienna in the final, and they remain one of only two French clubs to achieve major success in a continental competition. In addition to these successes, they have won the Coupe de France on eight occasions and the Coupe de la Ligue three times.

Throught the club's history, Paris Saint-Germain have housed some of football's biggest superstars. Some of the high-profile players to represent the team include the likes of Ronaldinho, George Weah, David Ginola, Youri Djorkaeff, Nicolas Anelka, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and David Beckham. The club's record goal scorer is the Portuguese striker Pauleta, who scored 110 goals.

The Parc des Princes, sometimes known more simply as Le Parc, has served as the club's home stadium since 1973. The ground has a total capacity of 48,712 and previously served as the home stadium of the France national team. 

Loading ...