Founded In
Eindhoven, Netherlands

About PSV

Philips Sport Vereniging, usually known as PSV or PSV Eindhoven, was established back in 1913 by the electronics company, Philips. Initially a team set up for employees, the club would eventually grow into one of the big 3 clubs in the Netherlands, along with Ajax and Feyenoord. Today, PSV are still owned by Philips and the company has served as the team's shirt sponsor since sponsorship was introduced to the Dutch league back in 1982.

In 1988, the club enjoyed arguably its greatest ever success, lifting the European Cup after beating Benfica in the final. The win, which came about via a penalty shoot out, completed a treble for PSV, who had also won the Eredivisie title and the KNVB Cup in the same season. In doing so, they became only the second Dutch club to achieve this feat, after Ajax.

PSV have won the Eredivisie title on 21 occasions, with their most successful period coming in the 1980s and 1990s. These two decades produced eight title wins, including back-to-back victories in 1985-86, 1986-87, 1987-88 and 1988-89. The club has lifted the KNVB Cup nine times and the European Cup once. In addition, PSV have won the UEFA Cup once, in 1978 and the Johan Cruijff Schaal nine times.

Some of the top Dutch players to represent the club over the years include the likes of Ronald Koeman, Ruud Gullit, Jaap Stam, Phillip Cocu, Ruud van Nistelrooy, Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink, Arjen Robben and Mark van Bommel. The club also has a history of signing top foreign players and notable examples include the Brazilian internationals Romário and Ronaldo.

Since their formation year, PSV have played their home matches at the Philips Stadion, which has grown from a ground with just 300 seats into today's stadium, which can hold up to 35,000 spectators. Its record attendance was set at 34,700 for a match against Ajax in 2005.   

Loading ...