Rubin Kazan'

Founded In
Kazan', Russia

About Rubin Kazan'

FC Rubin Kazan was founded in April 1958. Initially called Iskra, the club has spent the vast majority of its existence outside of the top flight, as evidenced by the fact that Rubin Kazan never appeared in the Soviet Top League during the competition's history. The club has enjoyed a recent rise to prominence in the 21st century, reaching the top flight and emerging as one of Russia's most significant clubs.

During the mid-1990s, Kamil Iskhakrov was appointed as the city's mayor. As a financial backer of Rubin Kazan, Iskhakrov's appointment to the position helped to stabilise the club's financial standing and allowed them to aim for greater heights. In 1997, Rubin were playing in Russia's third tier. A promotion to the 2nd tier at the end of that season was followed by several seasons of sustained stability in the division. At the end of the 2002 season, Rubin won the division and gained promotion to the Russian Premier League.

Since reaching the Premier League, Rubin have gone from strength-to-strength, achieving significant success in a relatively short space of time. In 2008 they were crowned Russian champions for the first time, in the process becoming only the third club based outside of Moscow to achieve this. The following year, they retained their title. In 2012, Rubin lifted the Russian Cup for the first time, defeating Dinamo Moskva in the final. The club was also victorious in the Russian Super Cup in both 2010 and 2012.

Some of the more notable players to play for the club over the years include Sergei Semak, Georgi Kinkladze, Gökdeniz Karadeniz, Rôni and Obafemi Martins.

Rubin play their home matches at the Tsentralnyi Stadion, or Central Stadium. The ground, which opened in 1960, has a four star rating from UEFA and is capable of holding up to 28,500 spectators.   

Loading ...