São Paulo

Founded In
1930 / 1935
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil

About São Paulo

São Paulo Futebol Clube was established in December 1935. Traditionally, the club maintains rivalries with the other clubs based in São Paulo; Corinthians, Santos and Palmeiras. Matches between São Paulo and Corinthians have become known as the Clássico Majestoso. São Paulo are the third biggest team in Brazil in terms of total number of supporters and the country's most successful club in international competitions.

During the 1940s, São Paulo established a team which soon gained the nickname The Steam Roller. This side, which contained players like Leônidas and Rui Campos, went on to win the Campeonato Paulista on five occasions between 1943 and 1949. The club enjoyed another period of sustained success during Telê Santana's reign as manager in the 1990s. Santana led the club to thirteen major trophies, both domestically and internationally.

São Paulo have won the Campeonato Paulista twenty-one times, the Série A title six times and the Copa Libertadores three times, including back-to-back victories in 1992 and 1993. The club also won the Intercontinental Cup in both 1992 and 1993. Their victory in 1992 came as a result of defeating Johann Cruyff's legendary Barcelona side in the final and in 1993, they defeated AC Milan. In 2005, São Paulo won their third Copa Libertadores and then overcame Liverpool in the final of the FIFA Club World Cup. As a result, the club's record in international competitions is the third best in all of South America.

In addition to Leônidas and Rui Campos, some of the legendary footballers to play in São Paulo's colours include Cafu, Roberto Dias, Raí and Rogério Ceni.

Sao Paulo play their home matches at the Estádio do Morumbi, also known as the Estádio Cícero Pompeu de Toledo. The venue, which is set to be used during the 2016 Olympic Games, holds a total capacity of 67,428 supporters, although its record attendance was set at 138,032 during the 1970s.  

Loading ...