San Luis

Founded In
San Luis Potosí, Mexico
About San Luis

San Luis Fútbol Club, sometimes referred to as San Luis Potosí, was first established back in September 1957. Originally operating under the same Santos, the team became known as Deportivo San Luis and Real San Luis before taking on its current name during the 21st century.

In 1961, the team was briefly relocated to the city of Tampico, before returning to San Luis Potosí a few years later, in 1966. Then, in 1967, the club made its debut in the third tier of the Mexican league system, before gaining promotion to the second division in 1970. In 1971, they earned promotion to the top division for the first time, but were soon relegated back to the second divison. The years that followed saw the club suffer from severe financial difficulties. In 2005, the team reached the top division, the Primera División, once again.

Major honours have been beyond the club's reach up until this point, although over the course of recent seasons, San Luis have started to establish themselves on both the domestic and international stage, including finishing as runners up in the top division in 2006. The 2008 season saw the team compete in their first ever international tournament, the Copa Sudamericana, where they reached the last 16 stage before being eliminated by Argentinos Juniors. Then, in 2009, they gained qualification to the prestigious Copa Libertadores for the first time.

The Argentine duo of Ariel González and Alfredo Moreno are the team's leading goal scorers, while other notable former players include Adrian Martinez and Marcelo.

San Luis play their home games at the Estadio Alfonso Lastras. Named after a lawyer and politician, who previously established a football team in the area, the stadium opened for the first time in 2002. It is currently able to hold a maximum of 35,000 spectators for the team's matches.   

Loading ...