Santos Laguna

Founded In
Torreón, Mexico

About Santos Laguna

Club Santos Laguna was first established in September 1983. The team is owned by Grupo Modelo, one of Mexico's largest brewery companies. Despite its relative youth, Santos Laguna is now amongst the most popular teams in Mexico and since arriving in the top flight in the late 1980s, has gone on to achieve notable domestic success.

The team's ascent through the Mexican league system was unorthodox. After spending several seasons in the lower divisions, they gained entry into the Primera División for the first time in 1988, by purchasing Ángeles de Puebla, an existing top flight franchise. Ángeles de Puebla were struggling to survive due to a lack of support, so the franchise was transferred to Torreón to become Santos Laguna. As a result, they effectively gained promotion by taking Ángeles de Puebla position in the top league.

Since entering the top division, Santos Laguna have established themselves as one of the major teams in the division. In total, they have been crowned champions of the Primera División on four occasions, with the wins coming in 1996, 2001, 2008 and 2012. On a further five occasions, they have finished in 2nd place. In 2004, the team also won the InterLiga, while in 2007, the club gained their first taste of international success by lifting the Copa Independencia. Then, in 2011-12, the team finished as runners up in the CONCACAF Champions League, losing the final to Monterrey.

Jared Borgetti is the team's record goalscorer, having scored 189 goals for Santos Laguna. Other well-known players to have played for the club include Vicente Matías Vuoso, Rodrigo Ruiz and the current club captain, Oswaldo Sánchez.

Santos Laguna have played at the Estadio TSM Corona since the ground's opening in 2009. Built at a cost of $ 100 million, the stadium, much like the club, is owned by Grupo Modelo. The Estadio TSM Corona is able to hold up to 30,000 supporters and replaced the team's old 20,000 seater stadium.    

Loading ...