Founded In
Seoul, Korea Republic

About Seoul

Football Club Seoul was originally founded in 1983 as Lucky-Goldstar Football Club. The team adopted its current name in 2004. They are one of the most popular and successful sides in South Korea and in 2012, were named as the K League's most valuable overall franchise by Brand Finance. Initially owned by LG, they were taken over by the GS Group in the summer of 2004 and have received significant finacial backing since.

After playing their debut season in the K League in 1984, the team took little time to establish themselves. In their second season, they were crowned as champions for the first time. The club finished as runners up in 1986 and 1989 before earning their second league championship in 1990.

In total, Seoul have amassed five K League titles, with their other wins coming in 2000, 2010 and 2012. Further success has been found in the shape of the domestic cup competitions, with the team lifting the FA Cup in 1998 and the K League Cup in 2006 and 2010. As a result, the 2010 season saw the side achieve a league and cup double. The club have also represented their country in international tournaments. Their best performance came in the 2001-02 edition of the AFC Champions League, when they finished as runners up.

The list of notable former Seoul players includes names like Choi Yong-Soo, Piyapong Pue-On, Park Chu-Young, Ki Sung-Yong and Lee Chung-Yong. Choi Yong-Soo later went on to become the club's manager.

Since 2004, the team have played their home matches at the Seoul World Cup Stadium. The venue, which also houses the South Korean national team, first opened its doors in 2001 and went on to host several matches during the FIFA World Cup in 2002. It is able to hold a maximum of 66,806 spectators.

Loading ...