Shamrock Rovers

Founded In
Dublin, Republic of Ireland

About Shamrock Rovers

Shamrock Rovers Football Club was first established in Ringsend, Dublin back in 1901. Nickamed The Hoops, they are the most successful team in the history of football in the Republic of Ireland and have also contributed a large number of players to the national team. Their main rivals are Bohemians, with whom they contest the Dublin Derby, but other rivalries exist with St. Patrick's Athletic and Shelbourne.

After the League of Ireland was established in 1921, Shamrock Rovers became champions for the first time in the 1922-23 season. By the start of the 1950s, they had emerged as Ireland's most successful side. Then, in 1957, they were the first Irish club to compete in a major European competition, as they featured in that season's European Cup.

In total, Shamrock Rovers have been crowned as Irish league champions on 17 occasions; more than any other team in the country. Their most recent title win came at the end of the 2011 campaign. The club also hold the record for most successes in the FAI Cup, which they have lifted 24 times, and the League of Ireland Shield, which they have won 18 times. In terms of continental performances, the club have a long history in European competitions, having featured in the European Cup Winners' Cup, the UEFA Europa League and the UEFA Champions League. They have usually competed in the preliminary rounds, but in 2011, became the first Irish club side to reach the group stage of the Europa League.

Amongst the most notable players to have played for Shamrock Rovers are names like Bob Fullam, Paddy Coad and Paddy Ambrose. Ambrose is the side's top goalscorer in league football, while the club's Player of the Year trophy is named after Coad.

The Hoops' home games are held at Tallaght Stadium, which is known in Irish as Staid Thamhlachta. The venue opened in 2009 and is able to hold a capacity of 6,000 spectators.

Loading ...