Founded In
Istočno Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina

About Slavija

Fudbalski Klub Slavija Sarajevo, known more simply as Slavija, was first established back in 1908, at a time when the city of Sarajevo was still a part of Austria-Hungary. Originally a section of the Đački Sportski Klub, over the years the team have come close to winning league titles on several occasions, but have so far failed to do so. However, they have achieved some success in domestic football and are considered one of Bosnia and Herzegovina's most historic sides.

The 1930s brought about Slavija's first close-call with a league title. After gaining promotion to the Yugoslav First League ahead of the 1930 season, the team established themselves over the years that followed and eventually finished as league runners up in the 1935-36 campaign. However, they were unable to build upon that title challenge and at the end of World War II, the club was closed down by the communist government.

After being re-born in 1993, following the dissolution of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, the team went on to achieve major success. In both 2005-06 and 2007-08, they lifted the Republika Srpska Cup, while their biggest individual success came in 2008-09, when they won the Bosnia and Herzegovina Football Cup. Now competing in the Premier League of Bosnia and Herzegovina, that same season saw Slavija once again come close to winning a league title, as they finished as runners up behind Zrinjski Mostar.

Yugoslavia international, Slavko Zagorac, is perhaps the club's most notable former talent. Other famous alumni include Branko Stanković, Florijan Matekalo and Vlastimir Jovanović, who each also played for either the Yugoslavia or Bosnia and Herzegovina national teams during their careers.

Slavija play their home matches at Slavija Stadium, also known as Gradski SRC Slavija. The venue is currently able to hold up to 6,000 spectators.

Loading ...