Solbakken rues missed Copenhagen penalty decision
Copenhagen coach Stale Solbakken has questioned the referee's decision not to award a penalty to his team in their 4-0 loss to Real Madrid.
Solbakken furiously burst from Copenhagen's bench in the 40th minute on Wednesday as the ball appeared to strike Luka Modric's hand on the goal-line after Nicolai Jorgensen's header had rebounded down to the Real midfielder.
Jorgensen reached the ball ahead of Real goalkeeper Iker Casillas, who came off his line, and as the ball headed towards goal, Modric threw his left hand in the air as he attempted to block - only for the ball to crash into the crossbar and deflect onto the Croatian's right hand.
Referee Matej Jug ignored the protests from the Danish visitors, and Copenhagen were denied an opportunity to equalise.
Real scored three goals in the second half to wrap up a comfortable four-goal victory but speaking to Danish television station TV3 Sport after the match, Solbakken could not help but wonder what might have been.
"It is difficult to see but it could also have been a sending off," said the Norwegian coach, who had comically tripped and fallen to the ground when calling for a penalty.
"I will not blame the referee; that would be stupid because it happens very quickly but, at the same time, it could have been judged (as a penalty) and it maybe would have been judged that way at the other end."
Solbakken was disappointed how Copenhagen finished the match at the Santiago Bernabeu as Angel di Maria added two late goals to Cristiano Ronaldo's earlier brace for the home side.
"Our performance was acceptable until they scored their second goal (through Ronaldo in the 65th minute)," Solbakken said.
"After that a huge mistake by us led to them making it 3-0 and finally some poor passing in midfield resulted in their fourth goal.
"Our first half was OK; we had three opportunities, one of which might have decided the match; Nicolai Jorgensen's header against the crossbar."