Sporting Charleroi

Founded In
Charleroi, Belgium

About Sporting Charleroi

Royal Charleroi Sporting Club was first established in 1904. Usually known as Sporting Charleroi, they traditionally play in black and white stripes, which has led to the development of the club's nickname, Les Zèbres. The team's biggest rivals are the city's other major club side, Olympic Charleroi.

The club made their first appearance in the top flight of Belgian football in the 1947–48 season. Since that time, they have bounced between the first and second tiers on a fairly frequent basis. Their current spell in the First Division has been an extended run, which dates back to their promotion in 1985.

Throughout their history, Sporting Charleroi have failed to capture any trophies, aside from Second Division titles in 1946-47 and 2011–12. However, the team have come close to major success on several occasions. In 1977-78 and 1992–93, Charleroi reached the final of the Belgian Cup, although they were unsuccessful both times, losing to Beveren and Standard Liège, respectively. In 1968-69, the team achieved its highest ever finish in the top tier, ending the campaign as league runners up. During their current run in the First Division, the side's best league finish has been fourth place back in 1993–94.

The list of former Charleroi players includes some of the best-known Belgian players of the modern era, including Philippe Albert and Daniel Van Buyten, who both represented the national team. Swedish international goalkeeper Lars Eriksson and former French international Michaël Ciani are amongst the notable foreign players to have played for the team.

Charleroi play home games at the Stade du Pays de Charleroi, which initially opened in 1939. The stadium was completely refurbished as a 30,000 seater venue ahead of the European Championships in 2000, where it hosted three matches. Today, the ground is capable of holding up to 25,000 supporters.   

Loading ...