Standard Liège

Founded In
Liège (Luik), Belgium

About Standard Liège

Royal Standard de Liège, commonly known by the name Standard Liège, were first established in 1898 under the name Standard Football Club. Over the years, they have been one of Belgium's most successful and best-known teams, achieving significant success at domestic level and occasionally challenging for major continental honours as well.

The 1960s and early 1970s brought about the club's first extended period of success. Over the course of that time, Standard Liège amassed five league titles, with wins coming in 1960–61, 1962–63, 1968–69, 1969–70 and 1970-71. In addition, the team won two Belgian Cups, with those victories coming in back-to-back years in 1966 and 1967.

In total, the team have been crowned champions of Belgium on ten occasions, making them one of the league's most successful sides. Their most recent wins came in consecutive seasons, in 2007–08 and 2008–09. Standard Liège have triumphed in the Belgian Cup six times, have lifted the League Cup once and have won the Super Cup on four occasions. In continental competitions, they were runners up in the 1982 UEFA Cup Winners' Cup, losing the final to FC Barcelona. Their best performance in the European Cup was an appearance in the semi finals back in 1962.

The team has played host to a number of Belgian international footballers, including Léon Semmeling, Roger Claessen, Jean Capelle, Gilbert Bodart, Steven Defour and Jelle Van Damme. Meanwhile, Guy Hellers, Ivica Dragutinović and Sérgio Conceição are amongst the team's most notable foreign imports.

The Stade Maurice Dufrasne has been Standard Liège's home since its opening back in 1909. It is named after the club's chairman from the time. Also sometimes known as the Stade de Sclessin, the stadium is currently able to hold a total of 30,023 supporters and has occasionally been used for the national team's matches.   

Loading ...