Founded In
Tvøroyri, Faroe Islands

About TB

Tvøroyrar Bóltfelag, better known as TB Tvøroyri, was first established in the village of Tvøroyri in May 1892. As a result, they are the oldest existing football team in the Faroe Islands and one of the oldest in the entire Kingdom of Denmark, which the islands belong to. Since the formation of a national league in 1942, the club have achieved significant success in domestic competitons and are one of the country's most popular sides.

A first golden era for the club began in the 1940s and continued into the 1950s, with the team winning league titles in 1943, 1949 and 1951, establishing themselves as one of the new league's major forces in the process. Further success came in the shape of the Faroe Islands Cup, which they lifted in 1956 and 1958.

The 1960s brought about limited success, although TB Tvøroyri were able to claim two further Faroe Islands Cups, with those wins coming in 1960 and 1961. A second golden age followed in the 1970s and 1980s, with the team picking up league wins in 1976, 1977, 1980 and 1987, to take their total haul to seven. The 1977 season was also notable for the club's fifth Faroe Islands Cup win, and the completion of their first ever league and cup double. However, to date, their 1987 league title remains their most recent major honour and the side have been unable to make a major impression on continental club football.

A number of notable players have represented the club throughout history, with several also competing for the Faroe Islands national team. Some of the best examples include Jens Erik Rasmussen, Pól F. Joensen, Jón Johannesen and Gilli Sørensen.

TB Tvøroyri's home matches are held at Við Stórá Stadium in Trongisvágur. The venue is able to hold a capacity crowd of 4,000 people.

Loading ...