Tianjin Teda

Founded In
1957 / 1998
Tianjin, China PR

About Tianjin Teda

Tianjin Teda Football Club was established as a professional team in 1993, although its roots can be traced back to the foundation of North China in 1951, which eventually became Tianjin Football Club. The team is owned by the Tianjin Economic Development Agency (TEDA) and is based in the Tianjin Economic and Technological Development Area. An affiliation exists between Tianjin Teda and the Australian side, Melbourne Victory, with the two teams playing regular off-season games.

Prior to the professionalisation of Chinese football in the 1990s, Tianjin Football Club experienced significant levels of success, winning league titles in 1960 and 1980. Upon the establishment of a professional league system in the country, Tianjin Teda were placed in the second tier. After finishing in 2nd place in 1994, the team gained promotion to the top division in the country. They were relegated at the end of the 1997 season and promoted again the following year, remaining in the top flight ever since.

In 2008, under the management of former player Zuo Shusheng, Tianjin Teda achieved a 4th place finish and their first ever qualification for the AFC Champions League. In the 2010 season, Arie Haan was brought in to manage the club. He led them to 2nd place and another Champions League qualification. In 2011, the side reached the last 16 of the Champions League and went on to lift the Chinese FA Cup, overcoming Shandong Luneng in the final of the competition.

Since their foundation as a professional side, some of Tianjin Teda's most notable players have included Chinese international footballers like Wang Xiao, Yang Jun, Han Yanming and current captain, Wang Xinxin.

The side currently play their home games at TEDA Football Stadium. The ground is owned by the TEDA Group and construction of the stadium cost around $55 million. It first opened in 2004 and is able to hold a maximum of 37,450 supporters.   

Loading ...