Tigres UANL

Founded In
San Nicolás de los Garza, Mexico

About Tigres UANL

Tigres de la UANL were established in March 1960. The club represents the University Autónoma de Nuevo León and has spent the vast majority of its history in the top tier of the Mexican league system, playing over fifty seasons in the 1st Division.

At the conclusion of the 1973-74 season, Tigres were crowned as champions of the second tier, the Segunda División. As a result, they gained promotion to the Mexican Primera División for the first time. Upon entering the division, the club took little time to establish itself. After finishing 13th, 12th and 19th in their first three seasons in the top flight, the 1977-78 season saw the team achieve a remarkable success, as they won the title. The following year, they finished as runners up and these performances set the team up for continued success.

In total, the club have been crowned league champions on three occasions, with their other victories coming in 1982 and 2011. Tigres have also twice lifted the Copa México, with their wins coming twenty years apart, in 1976 and 1996. In both 2005 and 2006 the team won the Interliga, while in 2009, they had their first taste of success in an international competition, overcoming Chicago Fire to win the North American SuperLiga.

A number of well-known international players have played for Tigres, with Claudio Suárez, Gerónimo Barbadillo, Jorge Campos, Luis Hernández and Carlos Salcido being amongst the most notable examples.

Tigres' home matches have been played at the Estadio Universitario since its opening back in 1967. The stadium was used as one of the venues for the 1986 FIFA World Cup, which was hosted in Mexico. Initially able to hold in excess of 50,000 spectators, renovations since the World Cup have reduced the capacity to its current maximum of 45,000.   

Loading ...