Founded In
1935 / 1998
Tokyo, Japan

About Tokyo

Tokyo Football Club, sometimes known as FC Tokyo, was first established as a company football team in 1935, under the name Tokyo Gas Football Club. It adopted its current identity in 1999. The team represents Japan's Tokyo prefecture and since entering the J-League, they have achieved some significant success.

In 1991, the club made its first appearance in the national leagues. After the J-League was established, Tokyo were not immediately eligible to enter and instead competed in the Japan Football League. In 1998, Tokyo Gas, the Tokyo Electric Power Company, TV Tokyo and several other companies worked together to create Tokyo Football Club Company, with the intention of entering the side into the J-League. In 1999, they won the J2 division and gained entry to the top flight. 

The team claimed its first major honour in 2004, as they won the J-League Cup, beating Urawa Red Diamonds in the final via a penalty shootout. A second J-League Cup victory followed in 2009. The following year, FC Tokyo won the 2010 Suruga Bank Championship, overcoming Ecuadorian club LDU Quito. Then, in 2011, the club lifted the Emporer's Cup for the first time. To date, the side's best performance in the J-League was a 4th place finish, which they achieved in the 2003 season.

Brazilian footballer, Amaral, is perhaps the club's most notable former player and he was nicknamed 'The King of Tokyo' by supporters. Other well-known players to represent FC Tokyo include Costa Rican international, Paulo Wanchope and the Japanese internationals, Yuto Nagatomo, Yasuyuki Konno and Teruyuki Moniwa.

The team play their home matches at Tokyo Stadium, which is currently known as Ajinomoto Stadium for sponsorship reasons. The venue first opened its doors in 2001 and is shared with lower division side, Tokyo Verdy. It is able to hold up to 50,000 spectators.

Loading ...