Unión Santa Fe

Founded In
Ciudad de Santa Fé, Provincia de Santa Fe, Argentina

About Unión Santa Fe

Club Atlético Unión was first established in April 1907. Commonly known as Unión de Santa Fe, the team is part of a sports club which also competes in various other sports, including basketball. Nicknamed the Tatengues, the football club maintains a historic rivalry with Colón de Santa Fe, which is known as the Santa Fe Derby. The matches between the two teams have been closely contested over the years. 

Unión Santa Fe started out playing regional football in the Santa Fe area and won a number of competitions, including the Liga Santafesina de Fútbol. In 1966, the team were crowned champions of Primera B Nacional and gained promotion to the top flight for the first time. They have subsequently bounced between the top and second tiers of the league system.

Although the club are yet to win a major national honour, Unión Santa Fe have enjoyed huge success at regional level, most notably winning the Liga Santafesina de Fútbol on 36 occasions. Since the turn of the 21st century, they have had success in the Apertura 2000, Apertura 2003 and Apertura 2010 competitions.

Throughout the club's history, a number of well-known footballers have represented the team and several have also played for the Argentina national side. Some examples include Leopoldo Luque, who had three spells at the club during the 1970s and 1980s and won the World Cup in 1978; Nery Pumpido, Argentina's goalkeeper during their successful 1986 World Cup campaign and Pablo Cavallero, who represented the national team in World Cups in 1998 and 2002.

Unión Santa Fe currently play their home matches at the Estadio 15 de Abril. The venue opened its doors back in 1923 and is able to hold a maximum of 22,852 spectators. Its name is a reference to the 15th April, the date the club was founded.

Loading ...