US Soccer

USMNT takes on Canada

Created on 29 Jan., 2013 4:21 PM GMT

The U.S. Men’s National Team opens the 2013 campaign with an international friendly on Tuesday, Jan. 29, against Canada at BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, Texas. The game kicks off at 8 p.m. CT and will be broadcast live on ESPN2, WatchESPN and Univision Deportes. Fans can follow the match on’s MatchTracker and via Twitter@ussoccer.

Having described this annual gathering as “not a preseason camp, but a preparation camp for a World Cup qualifier,” U.S. head coach Jurgen Klinsmann and his staff have had a chance to closely examine the depth and talent in the player pool for the last three weeks as the team prepares for a year that includes final round qualifying for the 2014 FIFA World Cup and the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

The U.S. is coming off a 9-3-2 record and .750 winning percentage in 2012, matching the top winning percentage of the modern era (the team also was 9-3-2 with a .750 percentage in 2008). The United States advanced to the Final Round of qualifying and has its sights on Honduras on Feb. 6 in San Pedro Sula. The USA’s first home qualifying match is March 22 against Costa Rica at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo.

Along with the upcoming international friendly and Hexagonal, 2013 marks a momentous year for U.S. Soccer, which is celebrating its 100-year anniversary and is hosting a number of events throughout the Centennial year. (CENTENNIAL HOME)

GOALKEEPERS (3): Tally Hall (Houston Dynamo), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire)
DEFENDERS (8): Tony Beltran (Real Salt Lake), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), A.J. DeLaGarza (LA Galaxy), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Connor Lade (New York Red Bulls), Alfredo Morales (Hertha Berlin), Justin Morrow (San Jose Earthquakes), Jeff Parke (Philadelphia Union)
MIDFIELDERS (8): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (out of contract), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Joshua Gatt (Molde), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)
FORWARDS (4): Juan Agudelo (Chivas USA), Will Bruin (Houston Dynamo), Eddie Johnson (Seattle Sounders), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)