Founded In
Utrecht, Netherlands

About Utrecht

Football Club Utrecht was first established back in 1970. The club's formation was the result of a mass merger between three of the city's teams, Voetbalvereniging Door Oefening Sterk, Utrechtse Sportvereniging Elinkwijk and Velox. Utrecht are unique in being the only Dutch club outside of the traditional big three clubs to have never been relegated from the top flight.

Voetbalvereniging Door Oefening Sterk had previously won the Dutch championship in 1957-58, while Utrechtse Sportvereniging Elinkwijk were noted for being one of Marco van Basten's former clubs. Since forming Utrecht, the club has gradually grown in stature. In 1991, Utrecht made their first venture into European football, having qualified for the UEFA Cup the previous season.

The club's main source of success has been the KNVB Cup and Utrecht have reached the final five times. After losing the 1982 final to AZ, they won the competition for the first time in 1985. They would then reach three consecutive finals in 2002, 2003 and 2004, winning the latter two. The 2003 victory was especially memorable, as the club thrashed Dutch giants Feyenoord 4-1. In 2004, Utrecht won the Johan Cruijff Schaal. In doing so, they also made history, becoming the first team aside from Ajax, PSV Eindhoven and Feyenoord to win the competition.

Throughout the years, Utrecht have hosted a number of well-known players. Some of the more famous examples include Dutch internationals Dirk Kuyt and Michel Vorm, French striker Marc-Antoine Fortuné and French youth international David Di Tommaso, who tragically died during his time with the club at the age of just 26. Di Tommaso's shirt number was retired in his memory and the club's Player of the Year award is named after him.

Utrecht play their home matches at the Stadion Galgenwaard. The ground has undergone significant redevelopment, most notably during the years 2000-2004. The stadium hosted the final of the FIFA World Youth Championships in 2005 and currently has a maximum capacity of 24,426.   

Loading ...