Vélez Sarsfield

Founded In
Capital Federal, Ciudad de Buenos Aires, Argentina

About Vélez Sarsfield

Club Atlético Vélez Sársfield was founded in January 1910 and the team was a founding member of Argentina's first professional league in 1931. They are the seventh most successful team in the country in terms of domestic league titles won and the fifth most successful in terms of total points amassed. Over the years, the club has enjoyed significant success in both domestic and international competitions.

The 1990s are typically seen as the club's golden era and during this decade, Vélez Sarsfield won Primera División titles in 1993, 1995, 1996 and 1998. In addition to these domestic league successes, the club beat defending champions São Paulo via a penalty shootout to win the 1994 Copa Libertadores.

In total, the team have won nine Primera División titles, with their most recent success coming in the 2012 Inicial tournament. In terms of international competitions, aside from their Copa Libertadores victory, Vélez Sarsfield also won the Intercontinental Cup in 1994, the Supercopa Sudamericana in 1996, the Copa Interamericana in 1996 and the Recopa Sudamericana in 1997. Their Intercontinental Cup victory came at the expense of Italian club AC Milan.

Carlos Bianchi is the team's record goalscorer, while the all-time appearance record is held by Fabián Cubero. Some of the other notable footballers to have worn the Vélez Sarsfield shirt include Diego Simeone, Oscar Ruggeri, José Basualdo and Juan Manuel Martínez. Goalkeeper José Luis Chilavert is one of the team's most legendary figures and he was the hero during the 1994 Copa Libertadores final, in which he both scored and saved a penalty. 

Since its opening in 1943, Vélez Sársfield have played their home games at the Estadio José Amalfitani, named after a former club chairman. The venue, which is sometimes known as the El Fortín, was expanded ahead of its use during the 1978 FIFA World Cup and is currently able to hold up to 49,540 spectators.

Loading ...