Football News

Venezuela Primera Division Wrap: Zamora clinch title

Created on 13 May., 2013 2:08 PM GMT

Zamora have been crowned Venezuelan Primera Division Clausura champions after a thrilling final day of the season on Sunday.

Goals from Gabriel Torres, Juan Falcon and Ynmer Eliecer Gonzalez saw Zamora to a comfortable 3-0 win over Estudiantes de Merida in Barinas.

It saw them win the title by a point – securing qualification for the Copa Libertadores – with the championship won on the back of the league's strongest defence.

Wins for Deportivo Anzoategui and Deportivo Lara meant nothing in the title race as they finished one and two points behind respectively.

Rolando Escobar's goal gave Deportivo Anzoategui a 1-0 win over Trujillanos, while Zamir Valoyes scored the winner in Deportivo Lara's 1-0 victory against Mineros de Guayana.

Ronald Giraldo struck a 68th-minute winner to give Portuguesa a thrilling 3-2 win over Real Esppor, Atletico El Vigia beat Monagas 2-0 and Aragua overcame Deportivo Petare 2-0.

Atletico Venezuela and Llaneros de Guanare played out a 1-1 draw, while Yaracuyanos came from behind to draw 3-3 at Zulia.

Caracas and Deportivo Tachira were unable to be separated in a 0-0 draw.

Loading ...