Vitória Guimarães

Founded In
Guimarães, Portugal

About Vitória Guimarães

Vitória Sport Clube was founded in the city of Guimarães in 1922. Due to its location, the team is commonly known as Vitória Guimarães. The team has spent the vast majority of its existence in the top tier of Portuguese football. Vitória's primary rivals are the nearby club, SC Braga, and the two teams contest the Minho derby.

The 2005-06 season brought about the side's worst domestic performance in many years. After finishing in 17th place, Vitória were relegated down to the Segunda Liga. After a difficult start to the 2006-07 season, Manuel Cajuda was appointed as manager. Cajuda rescued the club's season, gained promotion back to the top flight and then achieved Champions League qualification in the 2007-08 season.

Despite never winning the Primeira Liga, over the years Vitória Guimarães have attempted to challenge the dominance of the traditional big three clubs in Portugal. In addition to regular top half finishes in the league and qualification for continental competitions, the club also reached the final of the Portuguese Cup in 1942, 1963, 1976, 1988 and 2011. As a result, the team holds the unwanted distinction of appearing in the most cup finals without ever winning the competition. In 1988, despite losing in the cup final, Vitória went on to compete for the Portuguese Super Cup and won the match. It remains the club's biggest national honour.

Amongst the more notable players to have played for the club are Portuguese internationals like Bruno Alves, Pedro Mendes and Vítor Damas.

Vitória Guimarães play their home matches at the Estádio D. Afonso Henriques, previously known as Estádio Municipal de Guimarães, which was built in 1965. The ground was renovated in 2003 ahead of the 2004 European Championships, where it hosted two matches. At present, the ground has a maximum capacity of 30,165.   

Loading ...