Wacker Innsbruck

Founded In
Innsbruck, Austria

About Wacker Innsbruck

Fußballclub Wacker Innsbruck was established under the name FC Wacker Tirol in 2002, after FC Tirol Innsbruck was declared bankrupt and ceased operations. The new team is considered to be a spiritual continuation of the old club by its supporters and by those in charge, but from a legal perspective it is deemed to be a completely seperate entity. The club adopted its current name in 2007.

Upon foundation, Wacker Innsbruck began play in the lower divisions of the Austrian league system. However, their rise to prominence within the country took little time and by 2004, they had gained promotion to the Austrian Bundesliga. They ended their first Bundesliga campaign in 6th place, but performances dropped in the years that followed and at the end of 2007–08, they were relegated. Wacker Innsbruck gained their most recent promotion to the top flight at the end of the 2009-10 season.

To date, the new club have failed to win any of the major honours on offer to them. The now-defunct FC Wacker Tirol, on the other hand, achieved significant success during the 1970s, winning Austrian league titles in 1971, 1972, 1973, 1975 and 1977. Additionally, they were able to lift the Austrian Cup in 1970, 1973, 1975, 1978, 1979 and 1993. However, despite seeing themselves as a continuation of the old club, Wacker Innsbruck are not legally regarded as such. As a result, they are unable to officially claim any of the trophies won by FC Wacker Tirol.

Since the club's resurrection, some of their most notable players have included Marcel Schreter and Julius Perstaller, who were both prolific goalscorers for the side.

Wacker Innsbruck's home matches are held at the Tivoli-Neu, which is located in Innsbruck and first opened in 2000. The venue is notable for hosting a number of games during the 2008 European Championships. Its official capacity currently stands at 17,400.

Loading ...