Werder Bremen

Founded In
Bremen, Germany

About Werder Bremen

SV Werder Bremen was founded in 1899 by a group of high school students. Historically, Werder Bremen have been the most successful football club in northern Germany and one of the most successful in the entire country.

In 1922, the club became the first football team in the country to employ a professional coach. Following the re-structuring of German football under Nazi rule, Bremen were placed in the Gauliga Niedersachsen. It was during this time that the club tasted its first real success, winning their division in 1934, 1936, 1937 and 1942.

In 1961, Bremen captured the DFB Cup for the first time, defeating FC Kaiserslautern in the final. This success helped to earn Bremen the right to become a founding member of the Bundesliga in 1963. In the 1964-65 season, the second ever Bundesliga season, Werder Bremen won the league. The club would have to wait until 1987-88 for its second Bundesliga title and a third followed in 1992–93. Between those two title wins, the club was victorious in the European Cup Winners' Cup final in 1991–92. In the years after the turn of the millennium, Werder Bremen established themselves as a Bundesliga powerhouse, winning the league and cup double in 2003-04. Another DFB Cup win followed in 2008-09 and Bremen were runners up in the league in both 2005–06 and 2007–08. In 2008-09, Bremen also reached the final of the UEFA Cup, although they lost to Shakhtar Donetsk. Their closest rivals are fellow Northern German team Hamburger SV.

Legendary players to represent the club include names like Arnold Schütz, Horst-Dieter Höttges, Thomas Schaaf, Rudi Völler and Miroslav Klose. Bremen's record goalscorer is Marco Bode, who played for the club from 1989 to 2002, scoring 101 goals.

The club plays its home matches at the Weserstadion, which can hold a total capacity of 42,500 fans for league matches. 

Loading ...