Wigan Athletic

Founded In
Wigan, England

About Wigan Athletic

Wigan Athletic Football Club was founded in 1932 and only admitted to the Football League in 1978 making it one of the youngest professional clubs in England and the youngest in the Premier League.

Their current spell in the Premier League is the only run they’ve ever had in the top division of English football. It hasn’t always been plain sailing for the Latics though as they had 34 failed election attempts before gaining admittance to the Football League.

Wigan finally made an impact after the arrival of multi-millionaire, Dave Wheelan who bought the club in 1995. The club won the 3rd division in 1997, the 2nd division in 2003 and promotion to the Premiership under Paul Jewell in 2005 where they have remained ever since despite a few close escapes from relegation.

Their current manager is former player, Roberto Martinez who has an eye for talent and is intent on his club playing football with style and class.

Wigan’s home ground is the DW Stadium and they have played there since 1999 sharing the facility with rugby league club, Wigan Warriors. Its capacity is 25,138 while its record attendance is 25,133 for a match against Manchester United FC during the 2008 Premier League season.

Major Honours


Loading ...