Founded In
Växjö, Sweden

About Öster

Östers Idrottsförening was established in April 1930 under the name Östers Fotbollförening. Usually known as Öster, the club is based in the city of Växjö and has enjoyed significant success over the years.

The team first gained promotion to the top flight of Swedish football at the conclusion of the 1967 season. During their first year in the Allsvenskan, the side made history, winning the league title on goal difference, after four teams all finished with the same number of points. In doing so, they became only the second team to win the title straight after gaining promotion, and the only team to win the Allsvenskan in their first ever season in the league. IF Elfsborg had won the league straight after gaining promotion in 1961, however, they had previously won the Allsvenskan during the 1930s and 1940s.

Their first league title win sparked a golden era for the club, which spanned much of the next two decades. In 1977, the side lifted the Svenska Cupen for the first time. After several years of consistency in the league, Öster won their second Swedish championship in 1978. Further wins came in 1980 and 1981. In 1983, the club were runners up in the Allsvenskan play-offs and in 1992, they finished as league runners up. The team's performances soon began to decline and Öster were eventually relegated in 1998. Since that time, the club have bounced between the two divisions several times, struggling to reach their previous levels of success.

Amongst the most notable players to play for the side are names like Harry Bild, Anders Linderoth, Thomas Ravelli and his brother, Andreas Ravelli.

Öster currently play their home matches at Myresjöhus Arena, which they moved into in 2012. The venue is rated a UEFA class 3 stadium and has a maximum capacity of 12,000, of which 10,000 are seated and 2,000 are standing.

Loading ...