Founded In
Aberdeen, Scotland

About Aberdeen

Aberdeen Football Club was first established in 1903 as a result of a merger between three previous clubs from the city: Victoria United, Orion and Aberdeen. Nicknamed The Dons, historically, the club has been one of the most successful in Scotland and, along with Celtic, remains one of only two teams to have never been relegated from Scotland's top division.

The club's golden era came under the leadership of Sir Alex Ferguson, who was in charge of the team from 1978 to 1986, prior to joining Manchester United. This era brought about an unrivalled period of success, during which time the team won both domestic and continental trophies. In 1983, Aberdeen beat Real Madrid to lift the European Cup Winners Cup and later in the same year, they overcame Hamburg to win the UEFA Super Cup. In the process, Aberdeen became the first Scottish club to win two European trophies. Alex Ferguson also oversaw three Scottish First Division victories, in the 1979–80, 1983–84 and 1984–85 seasons.

In total, Aberdeen have been crowned Scottish champions on four occasions, with their only win outside of the Ferguson era coming in 1954–55. The team have won the Scottish Cup seven times, including a string of back-to-back victories in 1982, 1983 and 1984, during Ferguson's time in charge of the club. Furthermore, the club have won the Scottish League Cup five times. Their victory over Dundee in the 1995–96 League Cup final remains the club's most recent major honour to date.

Over the years, Aberdeen has housed a number of talented footballers. Some of the more notable examples include Joe Harper, who is the club's record goalscorer; Willie Miller, who holds the record for most appearances and Jim Leighton, who won three league titles, five domestic cups and played a part in both European trophy wins.

The club plays its home matches at Pittodrie Stadium, one of the largest grounds in Scotland, with a capacity of 22,199.   

Loading ...