AEK Larnaca

Founded In
Lárnaka (Larnaca), Cyprus

About AEK Larnaca

Athletiki Enosi Kition Football Club, often referred to as AEK Larnaca Football Club, was first established in 1994. The team came to exist as a result of a merger between two previously-existing teams from the city of Larnaca, Pezoporikos and EPA Larnaca. Since their formation, the new side have been able to achieve some notable success within Cypriot football. They are nicknamed 'The Guardians'.

Prior to the merger, EPA Larnaca achieved notable success, winning the Cypriot championship on three occasions, with those wins coming in 1945, 1946 and 1970. In both 1945 and 1946, the team also won the Cypriot Cup, in order to complete back-to-back domestic doubles. Pezoporikos had also previously won several major honours, including league titles in 1954 and 1988 and the Cypriot Cup in 1970. 

Since the merger, AEK Larnaca have also achieved some notable success, lifting the Cypriot Cup in 2004, after a 2-1 victory over AEL Limassol in the final. However, to date, that remains their only major honour as a united club. At the end of the 2008–09 season, the club were relegated, but they returned to the top flight ahead of the 2010-11 campaign, during which they finished 4th. The 2011-12 season is also notable for their performance in the UEFA Europa League. After beating Floriana, Mladá Boleslav and Rosenborg BK, the team advanced to the group stage of the competition for the first time in history.

Some of the most notable players to have played for AEK Larnaca, or the clubs which merged to create it, include Tasos Constantinou, Lakis Theodorou, Sylvester Vernon, Nassir Maachi and Gregoor van Dijk.

AEK Larnaca's home matches are played at the Neo GSZ Stadium, which is also known as Gymnastic Club Zenon Stadium. The venue first opened its doors in 1989 and previously served as the home for both Pezoporikos and EPA Larnaca. It is currently able to hold up to 13,032 supporters.

Loading ...