Football News

Ajax crowned Eredivisie champions

Created on May. 05, 2013 1:05 PM EST

Ajax secured their 32nd Eredivisie title with a 5-0 rout of Willem II at the Amsterdam Arena on Sunday.

Kolbeinn Sigthorsson and Christian Eriksen scored in the first half before Viktor Fischer, Siem de Jong and Danny Hoesen rounded off the comfortable victory as Ajax retained their title, sending Willem II down in the process. 

Frank de Boer's side have only been beaten twice in the league this season and wrapped up the title with one game to spare.

Meanwhile, PSV Eindhoven defeated NEC Nijmegen 4-2 and now trail Ajax by four points, while Feyenoord are a further two points behind after a 2-0 loss at ADO Den Haag.

Loading ...