Founded In
Amsterdam, Netherlands

About Ajax

Amsterdamsche Football Club Ajax, usually known by the simplified names Ajax Amsterdam or Ajax, was first established in March 1900. Their biggest rivals are Feyenoord and the rivalry between the two clubs is known as the Klassieker. Historically, Ajax have been the Netherlands' most decorated team and one of the most successful in Europe.

From 1959-1973, Dutch legend Johan Cruyff played for the club. It was during Cruyff's spell at Ajax, in 1972, that they enjoyed their best ever year. Ajax won the 1971–72 Eredivisie, losing just one match throughout the season. They also reached the final of the 1972 European Cup and beat Internazionale 2-0, with Cruyff scoring both goals. In addition, they beat FC Den Haagn 3-2 in the KNVB Cup final and lifted the 1972 Intercontinental Cup.

In total, Ajax have won the Eredivisie 31 times, with their most successful periods coming in the 1930s and 1970s. They have lifted the KNVB Cup 18 times, more than any other club and have won the European Cup four times, including three consecutive wins in 1971, '72 and '73. Their fourth victory came in 1995, with what is widely regarded as one of the best teams ever. Furthermore, Ajax have lifted the UEFA Cup once, in 1992 and the European Cup Winners' Cup once, in 1987.

In addition to Johan Cruyff, the club has housed some of the world's finest talents. The Ajax youth academy is renowned for producing top level players and some of the graduates include Frank Rijkaard, Ronald and Frank de Boer, Dennis Bergkamp, Patrick Kluivert, Clarence Seedorf, Edgar Davids and Wesley Sneijder. Other notable players to represent Ajax over the years include Marco van Basten, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Luis Suárez.

The club plays home matches at the Amsterdam Arena, which opened in 1996. The ground has a five star rating from UEFA, holds a maximum capacity of 53,052 and was used during the European Championships in 2000.   

Loading ...