Akron Zips

About Akron Zips

The Akron Zips football program has been active since 1891, when the school was still called Buchtel College. Known as 'the Zippers' from 1927, the team's nickname was subsequently shortened to 'the Zips' in 1950. The school's primary rivals are the Kent State Golden Flashes and the rivalry dates back to 1923. The rivalry is largely based on geographic location, as the two colleges are located just ten miles apart. Another rivalry previously existed between Akron and the Youngstown State University Penguins.

Initially operating with a Small College classification, the team made the step up to Division II level in 1973. Then, in 1980, the Zips became a Division I-AA program, before taking yet another step up in 1987 in order to gain Division I-A (FBS) classification. In doing so, Akron became the first team to make the leap between Division I-AA and Division I-A. In 1992, the Zips joined the Mid-American Conference, where they currently play in the league's East Division.

In recent times, the team have enjoyed some significant success, winning In 2005 Mid-American Conference East Division Title, as well as the 2005 MAC Championship Game, in order to claim their first Conference Championship. At the end of the year, Akron competed in the Motor City Bowl against the Memphis Tigers. It was their first ever appearance in a bowl game, but unfortunately ended with a 38-31 defeat.

The list of the program's most notable alumni includes names like Jason Taylor, Domenik Hixon and Chase Blackburn. All three players went on to achieve significant success in the National Football League.

InfoCision Stadium–Summa Field has served as the team's home venue since its opening in 2009. I...

Loading ...