Alabama Crimson Tide

About Alabama Crimson Tide

The Alabama Crimson Tide football program was first established back in 1892 and represents the University of Alabama. The team are amongst the most successful in the history of college football, winning a large number of titles and producing more than 50 consensus All-Americans in total. The Crimson Tide's main rivals include the Auburn Tigers, the Tennessee Volunteers and the LSU Tigers. Their rivalry with Auburn is considered the most important and the two teams first met in 1893. Games between the two have become known as the 'Iron Bowl'.

In terms of National Championships, Alabama are one of the most decorated teams in the NCAA. At present, they acknowledge a total of 15 National Title wins, including six wins during Paul Bryant's time as head coach of the program. In recent times, with Nick Saban serving as coach, they have won the BCS National Championship Game for the 2009, 2011 and 2012 seasons. In addition, the NCAA currently lists Alabama as National Champions for 1945, 1966, 1975, and 1977, but the school does not claim these wins.

To date, the Crimson Tide have won 27 Conference Championships, which is made up of four Southern Conference Titles and 23 wins since joining the Southeastern Conference. They have appeared in 60 bowl games throughout history and currently hold a 35-22-3 record.

Notable players to have come through the Alabama program include Don Hutson, Bart Starr, Joe Namath, John Hannah and Derrick Thomas. All five went on to enjoy successful careers in the professional ranks and have all been enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Bryant–Denny Stadium has hosted the team's home games since it opened in 1929. Formerly known more simply a...

Loading ...