Arizona State Sun Devils

About Arizona State Sun Devils

The Arizona State Sun Devils have represented Arizona State University in Tempe since 1931.

ASU (533-322-18) has won two national titles to go along with 17 conference titles. The Sun Devils were a Western Athletic Conference powerhouse in the 1970s, winning at least nine games seven times under head coach Frank Kush.

The Sun Devils hold a devilish postseason mark of 13-13-1, including a 1-1 record in the Rose Bowl.

Arizona State National Titles

  • 1975 Fiesta Bowl: ASU 17, Nebraska 14
  • 1970 Peach Bowl: ASU 48, UNC 26

Arizona State has produced 16 Consensus All-Americans. The Sun Devils have also sent close to 250 players to the NFL. Notable ASU players that have won a Super Bowl include Charles Woodson and Danny White. The program has more than 60 former players enshrined in its hall of fame.

  • Mike Haynes
  • Randall McDaniel
  • Terrell Suggs
  • Charley Taylor
  • Pat Tillman
  • Danny White
  • Darren Woodson

Arizona State has competed in the Pac-12 since jumping from the WAC in 1978. The Sun Devils annually compete in the “Duel in the Desert” against the Arizona Wildcats for the rights to the Territorial Cup. The all-time rivalry series, the oldest in college football, is tied 38-38-1.

ASU has called Sun Devil Stadium its home since the late 1950s. The venue also doubled as home to the NFL’s Arizona Cardinals from 1988 to 2005. The stadium also played host to Super Bowl XXX in 1996.

ASU’s Sun Devil Stadium

  • Opened: 1958
  • Seats: 71,706
  • Renovated: 1966, 1970, 1976, 1977, 1989
Loading ...