Arkansas State Red Wolves

About Arkansas State Red Wolves

The Arkansas State Red Wolves were established in 1911 and represent Arkansas State University. Up until 2008, the team operated as the Arkansas State Indians, before adopting the Red Wolves nickname instead. The team have key rivalries with two teams, the Memphis Tigers and the Louisiana–Monroe Warhawks. Their rivalry with Memphis has been dubbed the 'Paint Bucket Bowl' and dates back to 1914, while the rivalry with Louisiana–Monroe has become known as the 'Trail of Tears Classic'.

In 1953, the team officially joined the NCAA and operated as a member of its small college division up until 1972. After two years of playing at Division II level, Arkansas State moved up to Division I ahead of the 1975 season. Finally, in 2005, the team made the step to the Division I FBS.

Although they have an all-time losing record, altogether, Akansas State have won 10 Conference Championships throughout history. In addition, they have competed in three NCAA Division I FBS bowl games and currently possess a 1-2 record. Their first bowl win came at the third attempt, when they defeated the Kent State Golden Flashes in the 2013 Bowl by a score of 17-13.

Several Red Wolves players have gone on to earn a place in the National Football League. Fred Barnett became a Pro Bowl selection in 1992, during his time with the Philadelphia Eagles, while Bill Bergey also achieved success with the Eagles. Other notable examples include two-time Super Bowl champion, Maurice Carthon, as well as Kyle Richardson, who also won the Super Bowl with the Baltimore Ravens.

Liberty Bank Stadium has hosted the Red Wolves' home games since it opened in 1974. Previously known as Indian Stadium and ASU St...

Loading ...