Army Black Knights

About Army Black Knights

In operation since 1890, the Army Black Knights represent the United States Military Academy. The team have enjoyed significant success in college football and the program has produced a number of talented players and coaches, including 37 consensus All-Americans. For most of the team's history, Army have operated as an independent. However, between 1998 and 2004 they competed in Conference USA. The Black Knights have since reverted back to their independent status.

The Black Knights' main rivals are the Navy Midshipmen and the annual game between the two is one of the most significant rivalries in the entire sport. The team's other main rivals include the Air Force Falcons, the Notre Dame Fighting Irish and the Rutgers Scarlet Knights. The Army, Navy and Air Force teams compete for the Commander-in-Chief's Trophy; one of the rare trophies awarded to the winner of a three-way college football rivalry.

During the 1940s, with Earl Blaik serving as head coach, the team claimed three consecutive National Titles, with those wins coming in 1944, 1945 and 1946. The Black Knights have also competed in five bowl games and currently hold a 3-2 record. Their most recent victory came in the 2010 Armed Forces Bowl, where they beat the SMU Mustangs.

Three Heisman Trophy winners have come through the program: Doc Blanchard in 1945, Glenn Davis in 1946 and Pete Dawkins in 1958. All three have subsequently been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. In addition, Dwight D. Eisenhower, the 34th President of the United States, played for the team back in 1912.

Since its opening in 1924, the Black Knights have played home games at Michie Stadium in West Point, New York. Now offi...

Loading ...