Atlético Madrid

Founded In
Madrid, Spain

About Atlético Madrid

Club Atlético de Madrid, commonly known as Atlético Madrid, was formed in 1903 as Athletic Club de Madrid. For a long period, the club went by the name Atlético Aviación and the club's current name did not come into use until 1947.

The club's most successful period was ushered in during the management of Ricardo Zamora and spanned the duration of the the 1940s, 50s and 60s, during which time Atlético Madrid won six La Liga titles, three Copa Del Rey trophies and the European Cup Winners' Cup. During the later stages of this era, Real Madrid began to dominate Spanish football, but Atlético Madrid were the only team to seriously challenge them.

In the 1970s, the club added two more La Liga and Copa Del Rey trophies. In 1995-96, they won the league and cup double under the management of Radomir Antić, who transformed the club from relegation candidates to title winners at a rapid pace. At the turn of the millennium, the club was relegated and spent two seasons outside of the top flight. Since that time, Atlético Madrid have emerged as continental cup specialists, winning the UEFA Europa League in 2009–10 and then beating fellow Spaniards, Athletic Bilbao in 2011–12, and winning the subsequent UEFA Super Cup on both occasions as well.

Legendary names associated with Atlético Madrid include Luis Aragonés, Germán Gómez, Diego Simeone, Fernando Torres, Sergio Agüero and Radamel Falcao, although in recent times the club has found it increasingly difficult to hold on to its star players.

The club's home stadium is the Vicente Calderón Stadium, formerly known as the Manzanares Stadium. It has a capacity of 54,960 and was the first Spanish stadium to achieve 5 star status from UEFA. However, the Estadio La Peineta is currently being reveloped into a 70,000 seater stadium and the club hopes to relocate to the ground in 2015. 

Loading ...