Atlanta Falcons

About Atlanta Falcons

The Atlanta Falcons were formed as an NFL expansion team in 1965 and played their first season in 1966. The team's name is said to have been chosen by a school teacher, Julia Elliott, who won a competition in 1965. In reality, however, dozens of other entrants had also proposed the Falcons name.

The Falcons struggled mightily after joining the NFL, failing to make the playoffs for the first time until 1978. Two years later, Atlanta won its first ever division championship by winning the NFC West. After returning to the playoffs in 1982, the team went through a long drought and didn’t return to postseason play until 1991.

In 1998, the Falcons won the NFC Championship game, defeating the Minnesota Vikings. As a result of the win, they made their first ever trip to the Super Bowl. The team went into the game with an impressive 14–2 record for the season. Unfortunately, at Super Bowl XXXIII, the Falcons were beaten handily by John Elway and the Denver Broncos. Despite the loss, the team from that season, with Dan Reeves as head coach, remains the most fondly remembered in the history of the franchise.

To date, the Falcons have never won an NFL Championship. Aside from their Conference Championship win in 1998, the team have won five Division Championships, with the wins coming in 1980, 1998, 2004, 2010 and 2012. In addition, the team has made a total of 12 appearances in the playoffs. From 2008-2012, the Falcons completed a sequence of five consecutive winning seasons for the first time in franchise history.

Notable Falcons Players

  • Steve Bartkowski
  • William Andrews
  • Claude Humphrey
  • Gerald Riggs
  • Jessie Tuggle
  • Tommy Nobis
  • Mike Kenn
  • Deion Sanders
  • ...
Loading ...