Auburn Tigers

About Auburn Tigers

The Auburn Tigers football program was first established in 1892. Representing Auburn University, the Tigers have become a highly-decorated team, winning many championships, possessing an all-time winning record and ranking inside the top 20 NCAA programs in terms of total wins. The team's main rivals are the Alabama Crimson Tide, with whom they contest the 'Iron Bowl'. This rivalry is widely regarded as one of the most significant rivalries in college football. Other major rivals include the Georgia Bulldogs and the LSU Tigers.

Auburn currently claim two National Titles, with those wins coming in 1957 and 2010. The 1957 title was awarded by the Associated Press, while the 2010 victory was undisputed. Various other selectors have also picked the Tigers as National Champions for the 1913, 1983, 1993 and 2004 seasons, although the school does not currently claim any of these four championships.

Moreover, the team have won 11 Conference Championships, including seven Southeastern Conference Championships, as well as seven SEC West Division Titles. On 12 occasions, Auburn remained undefeated for the duration of the season and the team have achieved perfect seasons, with no losses or ties, seven times. The Tigers have also appeared in 37 bowl games and hold a 22-13-2 record. Their last appearance was a victory over Virginia in the 2011 Chick-fil-A Bowl.

So far, three Auburn players have been awarded the Heisman Trophy: Pat Sullivan in 1971, Bo Jackson in 1985 and Cam Newton in 2010. The program has produced several College Football Hall of Famers, including Terry Beasley and Tracy Rocker. Many players have also gone on to achieve success in the NFL, like Frank Gatski, who w...

Loading ...