Austria Wien

Founded In
Wien, Austria

About Austria Wien

Fußballklub Austria Wien, known in English-speaking regions as Austria Vienna, was founded in March 1911 under the name Wiener Amateur Sportvereinigung. They adopted their curent name in 1926 and are regarded as the second most successful team in Austrian football history, having amassed a large number of domestic honours. The team are nicknamed Die Veilchen, which translates to 'The Violets' and their supporters are traditionally seen as the more middle-class residents of the city.

Austria Wien's biggest rivalry is with local club, Rapid Wien. Matches between the two are known as the Wien Derby and are seen as being hugely important within Austria, primarily due to the teams' long history as the country's most successful sides. Aside from the rivalry between Rangers and Celtic, it is the most-contested derby match in European football.

Altogether, the team have been crowned as Austrian champions on 24 occasions, with only Rapid Wien winning more titles. Their most recent league success came in the 2012–13 season. However, while they trail their local rivals in terms of league championships, with 27 Austrian Cup wins and six Austrian Supercups, Austria Wien are the country's most successful cup team. Moreover, the club have made their mark on the European scene, especially during the 1970s, reaching the final of the European Cup Winners' Cup in 1978 and the semi-finals of the European Cup in 1979.

Some of the team's best-known and most successful players include a number of Austria's finest ever talents, such as Ernst Ocwirk, Herbert Prohaska, Toni Polster and Matthias Sindelar, who was voted the best Austrian player of all time in a poll conducted by the IFFHS in 1999.

The Franz Horr Stadium has hosted the club's home matches since 1974. The venue, which is named after a former president of the Vienna Football Association, was renovated in 2008 and can now hold a maximum total of 13,400 supporters.

Loading ...