Founded In
Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

About Bahia

Esporte Clube Bahia, usually known by the simplified name, Bahia, was first founded in 1931 as a result of a merger between two previous clubs from the area. Over the years, the club has enjoyed significant domestic success. Historically, their biggest rivals have been Esporte Clube Vitória and Bahia have had the better record of the two clubs in head-to-head competition.

However, the beginning of the 21st century has been tough for the club, with Bahia suffering relegation from Brazil's top flight in 2003. Things went from bad to worse in 2005, when the club was relegated to the Campeonato Brasileiro Série C, the country's third tier. Promotions in 2007 and 2010 have seen them climb quickly back into Série A.

Bahia have twice won the national title, with their first win coming in 1959, where they triumphed over Pelé's Santos team. Their second win, in 1988, came in amongst the most successful period of the club's history. The 1980s also saw regional league wins in 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1986, 1987 and 1988. In total, the club have won the Bahia State League 44 times. Despite Bahia's difficult start to the new millennium, they did lift the Northeast Cup in 2001 and 2002. The club has competed in the Copa Libertadores on three occasions, with their most successful performance coming in the 1989 campaign, where they reached the quarter final stage.

Some of the best-known players associated with the club include Bobo, Ronaldo, Charles and the World Cup winning midfielder, Kléberson.

Until recently, Bahia played their home matches at the Estádio Fonte Nova. During a match in 2007, part of the stadium collapsed, killing seven people and injuring dozens more. As a result of the accident, the stadium was ordered to be demolished. A new stadium is currently being built in the same location. While the new stadium is being constructed, Bahia will play home games at the Estádio de Pituaçu, which has a capacity of 32,157.   

Loading ...