Ball State Cardinals

About Ball State Cardinals

Ball State Cardinals football program has been in operation since the 1924 season and represents Ball State University. The team has been reasonably successful, holding an all-time winning record and earning several titles along the way. Their primary rivals are the Miami RedHawks.

From 1934 to 1947, the team competed in the Indiana Intercollegiate Conference. Then, between 1951 and 1967, Ball State were a member of the Heartland Collegiate Conference. In 1973, the team joined the Mid-American Conference, where they continue to compete to this day, in the league's West Division.

In terms of on-the-field success, the Cardinals have won ten Conference Championships, with their first coming in the Indiana Intercollegiate Conference in 1942. During the 1960s, Coach Ray Louthen guided the team to four consecutive Heartland Collegiate Conference Championships, with those wins coming in 1964, 1965, 1966 and 1967. Since joining the Mid-American Conference, Ball State have added a further five Conference Titles, with their most recent victory coming at the end of the 1996 season. The team have competed in a total of six bowl games: the 1989 California Bowl, the 1993 Las Vegas Bowl, the 1996 Las Vegas Bowl, the 2007 International Bowl, the 2008 GMAC Bowl and the 2012 Beef 'O' Brady's Bowl. Unfortunately, Ball State have been the losing team on all six occasions.

A number of players to come through the Ball State program are currently active in pro football, including Brad Maynard, Sean Baker and Reggie Hodges. Previous alumni to play in the National Football League include Blaine Bishop, Timothy Brown and Keith McKenzie.

John B. and June M. Scheumann Stadium has hosted the Card...

Loading ...