Baltimore Ravens

About Baltimore Ravens

The Baltimore Ravens were established when Art Modell opted to move the Cleveland Browns franchise to Baltimore in 1996. The team is named after “The Raven,” a poem written by Edgar Allen Poe, and the franchise is currently owned by Steve Bisciotti. Baltimore’s biggest rival is the Pittsburgh Steelers and this rivalry is considered to be one of the NFL’s most intense.

The decision to relocate the Browns to Baltimore caused widespread controversy. Eventually, the NFL and Modell came to a historic arrangement: Modell could move his franchise and keep the existing players and staff, but would be forced to relinquish ownership of the Browns’ name, colors, logos, and records. In short, the Ravens would be treated as an expansion team in terms of its history.

Since the team's formation, the Ravens have experienced tremendous success, winning the Super Bowl at the end of the 2000 and 2012 seasons. The team won the AFC North title in 2003, 2006, 2011, and 2012 and has won two AFC championships since moving to Baltimore. The franchise made its first playoff appearance in 2000 and has since appeared in the postseason eight more times. Prior to missing the postseason in 2013, the team had made five straight appearances under head coach John Harbaugh.

Baltimore Ravens Championships

Super Bowl Championships

  • 2000: Baltimore Ravens 34, New York Giants 7
  • 2012: Baltimore Ravens 34, San Francisco 49ers 31

Notable Ravens Players

  • Rod Woodson
  • Jonathan Ogden
  • Matt Stover
  • Peter Boulware
  • Michael McCrary
  • Jamal Lewis
  • Chris McAlister
  • Ray Lewis
  • Ed Reed

M&T Bank Stadium

Since 1998, M&T Bank Stadium has served as the home of the Ravens. Originally known...

Loading ...